Canada. Its policy supports activities that increase public access to the collections of Canadian museums and art galleries, and that lead to greater preservation of those collections. NMC comprises, in a single administration, Canada's four national museums in the National Capital Region and a series of national programs that serve the Canadian public both directly and through hundreds of museums and related institutions across the country.

Minister responsible: Minister of Communications

National Parole Board

Headquarters Sir Wilfrid Laurier Building 340 Laurier Avenue West Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R1

Regional offices: Vancouver (Abbotsford), Saskatoon, Kingston, Montreal, Moncton.
Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 995-1308.

The National Parole Board is responsible for granting, denying or revoking parole for inmates of all federal institutions, and inmates of provincial institutions in the Prairie and Atlantic provinces. It may also revoke mandatory supervision of federal inmates. The Board's work includes establishing eligibility criteria for conditional

release, conditions of release, implementation of procedural safeguards, pardon recommendations, and communication and consultation with other components of the criminal justice system.

Minister responsible: Solicitor General of Canada

National Research Council Canada

Head office Montreal Road Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R6

Other offices: throughout Canada.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 993-9101.

The National Research Council is the government's chief instrument for carrying out research and development in the natural sciences and engineering. NRC runs an extensive program of financial and technical support for industry; operates and supports major national facilities; maintains the National Science Library; publishes Canadian journals of research; and plays a major part in supporting the national scientific infrastructure of committees, networks and learned societies.

Minister responsible:

Minister of State, Science and Technology

National Transportation Agency

Head office Les Terrasses de la Chaudière Room 1910

15 Eddy Street Hull, Quebec

(Mail: Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0N9)

Western division headquarters: Saskatoon.

Regional offices: Whitehorse, Vancouver, Calgary, Winnipeg, Thunder Bay, Toronto, Montreal, Moncton.

Information: Ottawa/Hull (819) 997-0344; Saskatoon (306) 975-5201.

The object of the National Transportation Act is to encourage a safe, economic, efficient and adequate transportation system to serve the needs of shippers and travellers. The National Transportation Agency (NTA) is responsible for the economic regulation of all aspects of the transportation sector in Canada under federal jurisdiction, including transport by rail, air, water and commodity pipeline, as well as certain types of interprovincial commercial motor transport. The NTA also regulates railway safety. The Agency has all the powers, rights and privileges of a superior court in Canada. Although NTA decisions are binding, the Agency may review, rescind or vary any decision or order upon application for review under Section 41 of the Act. On matters of a question of law or jurisdiction, decisions or orders may be appealed to the Federal Court or by petition to the Governor-in-Council.

Minister responsible: Minister of Transport

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada

200 Kent Street

Ottawa, Ontario K1A 1H5

Information: Ottawa/Hull (613) 995-5992.

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council is a federal agency that supports advanced research and development in the natural sciences and engineering at Canadian universities and encourages collaboration between the academic and industrial sectors.

Minister responsible:

Minister of State, Science and Technology